1. Manage My TA

Destinations > Indochina > Hanoi

Stories about Adoption in Hanoi

A Gift of Love: One Adoptive Mother's Story

Linda Holland-Browne - lhollandbrowne [71]

This article first appeared in North Bay Adoptions , Reaching Out, Winter/Spring 1998 . Reprinted with permission. The torn and dirty fingernails of the woman, whose workworn hands reached out to take...

Destinations: Hanoi | Vietnam
Topics: Adoption

Traveling to Vietnam for Adoption?

Timothy Swanson - tswanson [89]

Not sure what to bring? Here's what's important - and why. My wife and I had received our referral and were awaiting notification to travel. Of course we were ready to go on a moment's notice - or at...

Destinations: Hanoi | Vietnam
Topics: Adoption

Cailey's Story

Carla Newton - cnewton [64]

Total Chaos. There is no noise, nothing is moving, but from the floor up, oh, 6 inches or so, chaos reins. It wasn't always this way, well not on a regular basis anyway. It started on February 9th, in...

Destinations: Hanoi | Vietnam
Topics: Adoption

Hoa Binh Heals the Children

Jean Nelson-Erichsen - jnelson-erichsen [165]

Scenes at a Vietnamese Social Service Center. A crying unwed mother hands over a pale, lethargic newborn boy to the orphanage director. A whimpering two year old girl, feverish and covered with insect...

Destinations: Hanoi | Vietnam
Topics: Culture | Adoption | People

Heartbeat

Ellen Warnock - ewarnock [79]

"Would you like me to go with you to Vietnam?" These words, spoken half in jest months before, brought me to Hanoi this past January. I stood in the doorway of Tu Liem Orphanage, watching as two...

Destinations: Hanoi | Vietnam
Topics: Adoption

Vietnam Impressions

Brent Babow - bbabow [77]

First published in North Bay Adoptions , Reaching Out, Summer 1996 We got the call on April 22, "Get here as soon as you can." After accepting the referral for our daughter Maya on March 21, this was...

Destinations: Ho Chi Minh City | Hanoi | Vietnam
Topics: Adoption
Vahn and I in a clothing shop

Precisely Halfway Around the World: Adoption Journey

Rosemary Shannon - rshannon [153]

I stepped out of the airplane into the heat and humidity of Hanoi, Vietnam, on June 15, 1998. After spending nearly 24 hours in airplanes from Fort Wayne to Vietnam, Dad and I were almost precisely...

Destinations: Hanoi | Vietnam
Topics: Food | Adoption | People
Hoah Binh nursery

A Humanitarian Journey to Hoah Binh

Jean Nelson-Erichsen - jnelson-erichsen [165]

Author's Note: Heino and I arrived in Vietnam to the sound of drumbeats and singing. We paraded with villagers and were invited to a tea and betel nut ceremony. We had traveled there at the invitation...

Destinations: Hanoi | Vietnam
Topics: Adoption

Resolve and Other Adoption Groups

Global Directions Inc. - Global_Directions [4,726]

Resolve Resolve is an organization that provides timely, compassionate, and informed help to people who are experiencing the infertility crisis or have had difficulty in building their families, and...

Destinations: Hanoi | Vietnam
Topics: Adoption
9 items found, displaying all items.
ThingsAsian

ThingsAsian is an Asia travel website with maps, stories, photos and travel tips contributed by a worldwide community.

©1994-2008 Global Directions, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Contact webmaster@thingsasian.com

Web Design by Dayspring